Middle of Somewhere

I originally saw the Seiklus on Home of the Underdogs, while skimming through the site for some freeware adventure games. I was rather intrigued by the premise about it being an exploratory game, as well as the nifty graphics on a featured screenshot. So I proceeded to download it from the author’s site and played it.

So far, so good. The game seems to revolve around a small white guy who, while watching the moon with a similarly-looking girl, got accidentally hit by a large meteor. This accident sends him into a strange world populated by enormous plants and animals, muddy caverns, and boiling volcanos. Seiklus allows the player to explore and interact with the elements in each of the environments, even though the player’s actions are limited to merely jumping and climbing chains or ropes. What I also liked about the exploration is I don’t ever get to die.

Pressing the spacebar allowed me to see a different screen indicating how far I’ve gone through the game, which shows a map of the entire landscape plus a percentage of how much I’ve explored. It also showed me the various “treasures” I’ve obtained, which is a neat feature. There are, admittedly, some hints on this help screen which weren’t too accessible at the start — I found myself wondering what they were for when I first started playing Seiklus, and it only came to me as I was more-or-less in the middle of the game.

Feeling Small

Gameplay is not too difficult, even for me whose eye-hand coordination is fairly inadequate (yes, I suck at console games). Several helpful clues are scattered in the game to assist the player in leaping towards the right places and obtaining items. There aren’t a lot of puzzles that can be found in the game as well, and those that are there may be solved with some persistence.

Seiklus does not officially come with its own music, but a separate ZIP file containing chip music culled by the author from different sources may be downloaded from the game’s website. The music he/she chose works beautifully with the overall theme of the game, and thankfully does not sound too electronic, as with most console games I’ve tried playing.

The player is allowed 3 saved game slots, and the savefiles can easily be replaced by another one by just renaming the old file to the new one. However, the author warns that savefiles from older versions may not work with the new one (v1.5).

If you’re looking to explore a unique environment, or just seeking a good diversion, Seiklus is the game for you. Its unique graphics and landscape will prove to be a worthwhile adventure to undertake.

